BOARD OF EDUCATION, SCHOOL DISTRICT 3A ROCHESTER HIGH SCHOOL MEDIA CENTER 1 ROCKET DRIVE SANGAMON COUNTY, ILLINOIS

REGULAR ROCHESTER BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING, OCTOBER 24, 2024

The Rochester Board of Education met for a regular meeting on October 24, 2024. President Magoulias called the meeting to order at 6:38 p.m.

- THOSE PRESENT: **Christie Magoulias Bob Chiles** Todd Hannah **Amy Reynolds Don Carley** ABSENT: **OTHERS PRESENT:** Dan W. Cox, Superintendent Suzanne Keller, Director of Educational Services Jennifer Shaw, Director of Special Education Kris Kahler, Director of Business Services Jeff Reed, RHS Principal Kim Poole, RJHS Principal Jamie Toland, RIS Principal Randy Krepel, RES 2-3 Principal
 - David Hawkins, RHS Assistant Principal Matt Lauber, RJHS Assistant Principal Aimee Sutton, RIS Assistant Principal Carey Seaton, Executive Secretary Joe Michelich, Rochester Times

RECOGNITION OF VISITORS:

Diane Novak Josh Carey Nancy Campbell Jenny Campbell Dave Robinson Lori Robinson Diane Hillard-Sembell Lyn Young David Taft Joe Robinson Diane Burtmen Josh Laurent Caide Laurent Megan Whaley **Dave Jostes** Joe Ryan

Lisa Hardas Steve Taft Sharon Riecher Sharon Swaney David Sturdy Hoyt Matthew Tanner Fry Amy Teeter John Firebaugh Jacki Kevin Kenny Gand **Eric Crouch** Mindy Wisecup Greg Wheeler **Brenda Hawkins** Connor Brewer

Aaron Taft **Denise Near** Ryan Kleingartner **Richard Patrick Emily Jewell** Savannah Kolba Brett Tackett Gina Palazzolo Creighton Krippel **Becky Leonard Rick Rockwood** Jennifer Crouch Kevin Gade Joseph Young **Randy Hawkins** William Huston

David Upchurch Tyler Walker Steph Zeidler Kellie Brewer **Ryan Wiggins** Jamie Whalen Scott Grant Cara Reiser Cashton Krippel **Rich Teeter** Beverley Chapman Maryann Moore Mike Dedrich Ashley Stillman Adam Michaud John Stiles

Diana Dedrich Josh Broughton Matthew Zeidler **Courtney Huston** Sean Robinson Alison Jacobs Elisha Tucker **Robert Bartletti** Robert Reed Melissa Kleingarner Dan Jeffers **Rick Eubanks** Elise Walker **Kelly Capriotti** Kristin LaMontagne Nancy Stiles

Nic Baker Hoerner	Jeff Kallister	Katie Nelson	Michele Tungett	Michael
Rachel Mays	Jen Hoerner	Krissy Dennison	Raina Kolba	Zach Stead
George Merschman	Dustin Bramer	, Sierra Edgington	Toni Hickey	Sherri Russell
Linda Merschman	Lindsay Kaiser	Ryan Carmody	John Loftus	Adam Mrozowski
Denise Waler	Agnes Mroowski	Andy Febus	Rebecca Sagle	Matt Young
Olivia Wheeler	Grant Wisecup	CJ Baker	Nikki Bruce	Gina Sidden
John Chapman	Mark Novak	Glenda Long	Lori Widger	Mike Widger
Jordyn Crouch	Courtney Sullivan	Megan Leichsenring	Nancy Baker	Curtis Baker
Zach Grant	Stan Gunter	Deena Powell	Ian Clockenga	Garret Dooley
Amy Grant	Michael Bruce	Beth Durham	Eli Cox	Vallie Gould
Angie Leonard	Halie Zulauf	Jared Lander	Diane Novah	Jake Milliron
Ken Leonard	Rachel Ramsey	Julie Cox	Jane Lunt	Andy Lunt
Mark Butcher	Melinda Derocher	Ty Durocher	Steph Palazzolo	Josh Kates
Gary Fifer	Amber Fifer	Angie Carver	Chadd Carver	Julie Matthews
Clark Blade	Travis Landgrebe	Misty Phillips	Tom Wise	Amelia Cheek
Marty Fairchild	Diana Fairchild	Matt Butcher	Nicole Moore	David Jostes
Mackenzie Montgomery		Danny Dyer	Ben Clark	Joey Durham
Amanda Carmody	Ryan Carmody	Ryan Mohan	Josh McDan	D'ante Cox
Thomas Bertrand	Bruce Hays	Zach Whitlow	Jim Giganti	Abbey Giganti
Kip Reiss	Kristen Reiss	Janet Gogerty	Holt Zeidler	Kenny Guillotte
Sarah Kerley	Julie Tinder	Angie Lyons	Lauren Thomas	Amber Newingham
Bryer Ramsey	Nate Swaney	Vincent Laurent	Josh Koster	

CLOSED SESSION

Mrs. Reynolds made a motion to go into closed session for purposes defined in: 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1) The appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the public body or legal counsel for the public body.5 ILCS 120/2(c)(2) Collective negotiating matters between the public body and its employees or their representatives, or deliberations concerning salary schedules for one or more classes of employees. 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(9) Student Disciplinary Cases. 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(10) The placement of individual students in special education programs and other matters relating to individual students. The motion was seconded by Mr. Hannah and passed unanimously.

The Board entered into closed session at 6:40 p.m. The Board came out of closed session at 9:10 p.m.

Eli Cox, Diane Hillard Sembell, Nick Baker, Zack Grant, Steve Taft, Aaron Taft, Tyler Walker, Matt Zeidler, Sean Robinson, and Holt Zeidler spoke on behalf of Derek Leonard and the Rochester Football program. Sarah Kerley voiced concerns about how the meeting was handled and was disappointed that recommendations were not made public. Phil Harris was concerned that parents were not involved and had no knowledge of the interviews during the investigation process.

Approve Personnel Report

Mrs. Reynolds made a motion to approve the personnel report, which was seconded by Mr. Hannah and passed unanimously.

Action on Items Following Closed Session

The following action items were approved following the closed session of the Board of Education:

• The following individuals were approved for employment:

Licensed Staff:	
Zucco, Carrie	Permanent Substitute Teacher, District
Support Staff:	
Bauer, Laura	Bookkeeper, District
The following individuals were a	pproved as volunteer staff:
Volunteer Extracurricular Staff:	
Cousin, Jim	Robotics Coach, RHS
• The following individuals submit	ted retirements/resignations with thanks for service:
RESIGNATIONS/RETIREMENTS:	

Extra-Curricular Staff:	
Zeidler, Stephanie	After Prom Sponsor (split position), RHS, Effective October 21, 2024

LEAVE OF ABSENCE:

Licensed Staff:Goad, RhondaMath Teacher, RHS, Effective October 3, 2024 through October 14, 2024

Adoption of Recommendations Provided in Independent Investigator's Report.

The vote was not unanimous, Dr. Christie Magoulias voted against the recommendations of the independent investigators' report.

Consent Agenda

The following items were approved on the consent agenda:

- Approval of <u>Minutes</u>
- Acceptance of Donations
- Review of FOIA Request
- Approval of Substitute Secretary Pay Rates
- Approval of Updates & Revisions to Board of Education Policy 116
- Approval to Authorize Hiring Authority to the Superintendent through November 30, 2024
- Approval to Authorize Superintendent to Pay Bills Through November 30, 2024
- Approve Disposal of Verbatim Closed Session Recording Older than 18 Months

Mr. Hannah made a motion to approve the consensus agenda. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Reynolds and carried unanimously.

Action to Adopt Resolution to Dismiss and to Authorize Notice of Dismissal of an Educational Support Employee, Laela Guthrie. Mr. Hannah made a motion to approve the resolution to dismiss the educational support employee, Laela Guthrie. Mrs. Reynolds seconded the motion, which carried unanimously.

Approval of Bills/Payroll/Treasurer's Report

The Board did not present any questions regarding the bills. Mrs. Reynolds made a motion to approve the bills, payroll, and Treasurer's report. Mr. Hannah seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Board Committees:

Mrs. Reynolds provided an update from the CACC executive board meeting about new classes being offered.

ADJOURN

The Board of Education adjourned early, due to the number of disruptions, they were unable to conduct the full business meeting.

Mr. Hannah made a motion to adjourn at 8:21 p.m. which was seconded by Mrs. Reynolds and carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Christie Magoulias, President Board of Education Todd Hannah, Recording Secretary Board of Education